Introductions

This is my very first post! If you’re reading this, thank you for supporting me. Perhaps we know each other already. Maybe you’re a stranger. If that’s the case, know that I am like you – an acorn toppled from the same tree, our desires overlapping, our dreams abundant, our To Be Read pile endless. Let’s discover why the breeze toppled us both – why it ignited a fire in me from a young age to tell stories; why it sent you here today. We are alike. I am hoping to connect with readers. Like you.

The very same breeze came for us both. Let’s begin.

As I said, this is my first blog post. A bit late to the game, but if a global pandemic circa 2020 tells us anything, it’s that life is short. Far shorter for others. Life is not about the 9 to 5 formula we have been taught to adopt come hell or high water. We’re not here to ace high school, to obtain a Masters degree, to claim that Ivory Tower position and make as much money as we can.

Where is the joy? Where is the moment of revelation we all seek? This is the moment we realise we are happy – the moment we can say to ourselves, “Life is good.” Life is about experiencing the magic of witnessing a house overrun by the leafy elements. The way sunlight lounges on an abandoned wall. The smell of the sea. The baffling wonder of the night sky. We are told to look down (head down, bum up, they say). Life is short. Don’t forget to look up.

Why begin a writing blog?

  • Because it will hopefully connect me with other readers and writers
  • To keep readers up to date on my writing projects
  • Because it will bring me joy, and hopefully others will have the same epiphany I did during this time – to take a leap, and to pursue what makes you happy.

I’ll keep it short from here on out. This was meant to be an introduction, yet I am already beginning to speak about The Mysteries of the Universe.

Here are a few things about me and my mission for this blog:

  • I used to think there is beauty in solitude. There certainly is quiet. And peace. But great things need to be shared. This includes love for books, films, stories, the wild – things that I will be sharing in order to connect with people who feel the same.
  • There will be a lot of writing posts on this blog. Some will be linked to Instagram. Others will purely be found here on this site, posts about writing projects, reviews of books and films, and some personal experiences.
  • This is a place that is welcome to all. In the end, we’re all looking for the same things. Maybe through our love of the same creative works, we can discover those answers together.

A little about me: I live on the Sunshine Coast, Australia, but frequently visit the nearby city of Brisbane. I do this to visit family, or just to visit my favourite bars. As a dedicated vegan, once you find the best places, you practically become part of the furniture. Apart from reading and writing fiction, I am a keen musician. In the past, I have toured the nation with my friends and bandmates. Everything I have experienced – every hobby, every friendship, every facet of my past – will somehow be shown in my writing.

I have a lot of love for the world around me. First and foremost is my love for animals. They will rear their heads many times in my fictional (and not so fictional) works. Apart from these loves and these hobbies, I am quite a simple man. Once I find my passions, I throw myself into them and to hell with the rest. This new blog has joined the ranks.

I will draw this introduction to a close. I just thought I would say hello to those who have decided to visit and give a taste of what you can expect to find here. I really am excited to connect with fans of the written word. Books are a form of magic that must remain in this world. Let’s help each other keep it alive. Please follow me on social media (links in the ‘About’ page), and feel free to use the form on the ‘Contact’ page to send me a message. I would love to hear from you. Hopefully we can lose ourselves in books and stories so as to better work our way through life. As they say, truth is far stranger than fiction.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started